Application checklist at a glance
| Question | Short answer |
|---|---|
| What do almost all cities ask for? | A site plan showing where the sign goes, and a dimensioned drawing or elevation of the sign. Nearly every city below asks for both. |
| When do I need an engineer? | For larger or taller signs: for example an attached sign over 100 sq ft in Dallas, a wall sign of 100 sq ft or more in Los Angeles, a wall sign over 100 sq ft in Phoenix, any part above 25 ft in Fort Worth; a pole sign taller than 12 ft in San Antonio. Boston asks for stamped mounting details; Columbus says its zoning code does not require sealed drawings. |
| Do I need the property owner’s consent? | Often: Indianapolis asks for proof of consent, San Antonio for written consent of the owner or lessee, Dallas for an owner-signed notarized form for detached signs, and in Nashville the owner or the owner’s legal representative applies. |
| Can I file it myself? | In Houston and San Antonio only licensed sign contractors can. Elsewhere it depends on the sign; see who can install a sign. |
| Where do I file? | Mostly online portals; Columbus and Nashville by email, Los Angeles in person, and Chicago online and then on paper. |
What each city asks for
Summarised from each city’s own checklist, information bulletin or code section, linked in the last column. Forms change; check the linked page before you file.
| City | Where to file | What to submit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta | Not stated | The city’s application form and the fees, with detailed drawings showing the dimensions, design, structure and location of each sign, and the total wall area dimensions when necessary (§16-28A.013(b)). | Chapter 28A |
| Boston | Online, ISD permit portal | PDFs of dimensioned drawings (site plan or location map, building elevations, sign details and specifications), illumination specifications and proof of dimmability, mounting and fastening details stamped by a Massachusetts certified engineer, a full description of work, the estimated total cost, trade licenses, the contractor agreement and the Mattocks-Higgins, workers compensation and construction safety affidavits. | Sign Permit Submission Requirements |
| Chicago | Online first, then paper to the Department of Buildings | Start online and pay the zoning review fee, then send the printed online application, the paper supplemental application, an image or drawing of the sign, a plan of its location and any architectural or engineering documents to Sign Permits, 121 N. LaSalle St., Rm. 900. | Department of Buildings |
| Columbus | Email, [email protected] (on the form) | A Graphic Permit Application (one graphic per application), a site plan with the sign location, right-of-way or property lines and setback, a dimensioned building elevation for new graphics and a dimensioned drawing including any support structure. The zoning code does not require sealed drawings. | Graphics Permit Application |
| Dallas | Online, DallasNow | For every sign: an overhead location map, a sign elevation with the exact wording and overall dimensions, and a construction detail; an electrical detail for electrical signs. Attached signs: placement on the facade, and a stamped Texas engineer’s drawing if any part is over 100 sq ft, mounted over 50 ft or projecting more than 4 ft. Detached signs: a notarized sign premise warranty form signed by the owner or manager, a scaled site plan, and engineering over 32 sq ft or 8 ft. | Sign permit pre-screen items |
| Denver | Online, e-permits, with the sign permit application PDF | A site plan (zone lot lines, structures, existing and proposed signs, north arrow, scale, dimensions to the lot lines), a fully dimensioned sign elevation or photo simulation, and for the building permit, structural plans stamped by a Colorado-registered structural engineer. An electrical permit is needed for electrical components. | Apply for a Sign Permit |
| Fort Worth | Online only | Detached signs: a site plan with dimensions to property lines, easements overlaid, the plat and a sign exhibit with all measurements in feet; engineering if any part is above 25 ft. Attached signs: building elevations and a sign exhibit with measurements in feet. | Sign permits page |
| Houston | Online | Permits are issued only to licensed sign contractors. The location is marked on the property or shown on a site plan with dimensions from fixed objects; a survey for new ground signs; engineering in the packet if rebar or anchor bolts are used. | Sign Administration |
| Indianapolis | Citizen’s Access Portal, or drop-off in the BNS lobby | A signed Business Sign Application, the Sign Submittal Checklist, two complete sets of plans drawn to scale, a site plan, sign or facade elevations, proof of the property owner’s consent, the estimated value, the illumination type and the legal description. Fees are due on submittal. | Sign Submittal Checklist |
| Los Angeles | In person, at an LADBS permitting office | A “B” Building Permit Application and a sign pre-inspection (SPI), a plot plan (lot, buildings, proposed and existing signs), elevations with sign height and size, and structural plans and calculations stamped by a licensed engineer or architect, except for a wall sign under 100 sq ft. | P/BC 2023-078 |
| Nashville | Email, [email protected] | A Commercial Permit Application, a site plan with distances to property lines, existing structures and easements, and renderings with dimensions. The property owner or the owner’s legal representative applies. | Sign permit process |
| Phoenix | Not stated | The department’s form signed by the applicant or agent, plans showing the scope and structural detail (connections, supports, footings) and a plot layout; plans sealed by an Arizona engineer or architect for listed types, including wall signs over 100 sq ft (§705). | Zoning Ordinance §705 |
| Sacramento | Not stated | Sign Permit Application CDD-0274 from the property owner or a licensed contractor, with a site plan, elevations, photographs, structural and electrical details and the Title 24 compliance document (NRCC-LTS-01-E); $100 submittal fee. | CDD-0274 |
| San Antonio | Online, BuildSA | Application “A” with the written consent of the owner or lessee. Wall signs: elevation drawings and an engineer’s letter. Pole signs: a site plan with easements and setbacks, drawings and an engineer’s letter if taller than 12 ft. Electric signs: drawings, elevations and proof of listing. | Information Bulletin 191 |
| San Diego | Online permitting account | Project Contacts Information DS-345, sign plans (site plan, sign schedule, elevations with dimensions and copy, tenant frontage for wall signs, attachment and footing details), and structural calculations for larger signs such as larger wall signs (the bulletin sets the size and weight thresholds). Plan check fees are paid before review. | Information Bulletin 111 |
| San Francisco | Online, PermitSF | Drawings with the sign’s area, height, projection and lettering dimensions; the form asks how it is attached, the illumination, contractor license and Business Account Number, and valuation. A Planning approval letter for a landmark building; the owner’s ID and disclosure form if you apply for an owner. | Get a permit to install a sign |
Cities not listed
For Austin, Charlotte, Jacksonville, Las Vegas, Miami, New York City, Philadelphia and Seattle, the official pages and code text we read give the filing route but no itemized list of documents, so this page gives none.
Want to know what your city will ask for? Send your sign details and we will tell you →
Ask us how the code reads for your sign
Send your sign's dimensions and the city you are in, and we will reply with what that city's code allows for that sign. No charge. We are not a sign contractor and not a permit agent.
